Day 187: To Macro or Not to Macro?

Speaking of my over-grown yard, if you missed it you can read it here, I wanted to see how close I could get to objects with my Sigma 18-250 Macro lens. I’ve never done any kind of macro shot, and even though this isn’t a dedicated Macro lens (it is only a 1:3), you are still supposed to get impressively close shots.

I am not exactly blown away with the results that I got today, this sprig of stickers (or sand spurs as some people call them) isn’t really jaw-dropping or life-changing — though I do really like the booked. I know that many people take photographs of bugs when they are shooting macro, but I am not planning to hang out with the hornets, wasps, or mosquitos just to get a cool shot. I did however, spot this dead grasshopper/bug thing while walking through the yard and decided it was non-threatening enough to take photographs of, but it sure isn’t going to win me any macro photography contests.

What am I doing wrong? Am I shooting the wrong subject, or maybe one truly needs a dedicated macro lens? What do you think?

Do you shoot macro? What gear do you use?

Stickers-2
Nikon D7200
ISO 1250
210mm
f/8
1/100 seconds

Dead BugNikon D7200
ISO 100
250mm
f/6.3
1/125 second

Leave a Reply

