Day 15 Theme: Perspective

In photography, it is easy to get in the habit of shooting at eye level. However, in doing so, a  photographer can miss an opportunity to change an otherwise boring photograph into something much more interesting, just by changing their  perspective. Katie McEnaney explains this concept in her article found here on the Digital Photography School website.

The photograph below is of a hanging light fixture I saw on Sunday at the Burrito Gallery on Adams Street in downtown Jacksonville (btw, if you find yourself downtown, check them out and get the brisket taco, it was delicious!). Looking at it straight on, it was pretty, but there wasn’t much photographically interesting about it, until I looked at it from a different perspective, the lines and curves that you can see looking at it from this vantage point drew me in.  It’s easy to miss these details when you aren’t looking at a subject from different angles. I know some photographers that only shoot from low angles, and I find that I am really drawn to their work. It is definitely something that I need to put into practice more in my photography.

Enjoy and I’ll see you tomorrow.

Tomorrow’s theme: Get Low

DowntownJacksonville011016-27Nikon D7200
ISO 500
52mm
f/4.8
1/25 sec.
Manual

Leave a Reply

